The Andam Awards 2024 winner is Christopher Esber
Christopher Esber. ©Photo: Andam / Nathan Yamniak

The Andam Awards 2024 winner is Christopher Esber

Christopher Esber, the Sydney-based designer known for his bold cut-out designs, has won the grand prize at the Andam Awards 2024, marking a significant milestone in his career.
June 28, 2024

Sydney-based designer Christopher Esber has been named the grand prize winner at the Andam Awards 2024 in Paris. The 35th anniversary edition of the French fashion industry’s awards saw Esber, known for his bold cut-out designs and sleek eveningwear, beat a talented field of finalists including Meryll Rogge, Marie Adam-Leenaerdt, Ruohan and Charles Jeffrey Loverboy.

The awards were announced at a party in the gardens of the Palais Royal on the closing night of Paris Haute Couture Week by a jury chaired by Saint Laurent Creative director Anthony Vaccarello.

Esber‘s victory comes with the top prize of 300,000 euros and the opportunity to be mentored by the jury president Anthony Vaccarello. This achievement is even more impressive considering that Esber made his debut at Paris Fashion Week less than a year ago. His designs have already attracted a celebrity following, with stars such as Dua Lipa, Hailey Bieber and Zendaya frequently spotted in his creations.

The Andam Awards, which require candidates to either own a French company or create one during the year of the fellowship, also recognized other talented designers. The special runner-up prize of 100,000 euros went to 3.Paradis, a 10-year-old label founded in Canada by French designer Emeric Tchatchoua. The Pierre Bergé Prize was awarded to Paris-based Pièces Uniques, a clothing brand founded by Edmond Luu, while the accessories prize went to Maeden, an Amsterdam-based leather goods brand under the creative direction of Christian Heikoop.

The star-studded jury, chaired by Vaccarello, included an impressive list of fashion icons and celebrities. Model and singer Carla Bruni, actress and musician Charlotte Gainsbourg, models Anja Rubik and Alek Wek, former Saint Laurent campaign faces Béatrice Dalle and Rossy de Palma, director Gaspar Noé, actor Niels Schneider, actress Virginie Efira, writer Virginie Despentes, Blackpink‘s Rosé, stylist Emmanuelle Alt and journalist Augustin Trapenard – host of the Saint Laurent’s Talks podcast – all lent their expertise to the judging process.

Created in 1989 by Nathalie Dufour with the support of the French Ministry of Culture and the DEFI, the Andam Awards have long been a springboard for designers to international recognition. The late Pierre Bergé served as the organization’s president, and the awards are supported by major corporate sponsors including Balenciaga, Bureau Betak, Chanel, Chloé, Fondation Pierre Bergé-Yves Saint Laurent, Galeries Lafayette, Google, Hermès, Kering, Lacoste, Longchamp, LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton, L’Oréal Paris, Meta, Mytheresa, OTB, Premiere Classe, Saint Laurent, Swarovski, and Tomorrow.

Read more: Andam 2024 announces 12 finalists for 35th anniversary edition