CFDA 2023 honors winners at glittering fashion gala

CFDA 2023 honors winners at glittering fashion gala

Celebrating fashion's finest, CFDA 2023 applauds the wins of Catherine Holstein and Willy Chavarria, heralding a vibrant future for American design talent.
November 8, 2023

The CFDA has announced the winners of its 2023 Fashion Awards. The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) wrapped up its 61st annual gala honoring the brightest stars in the sartorial sky. The night saw familiar names, with Catherine Holstein of Khaite and Willy Chavarria leading the pack in the women’s and men’s categories, respectively.

Do you use Google News? You can follow your favorite media. Follow Fashionotography on Google News, by RSS or on Flipboard.

The awards, a beacon of fashion excellence, didn’t shy away from recognizing the fresh visionaries in the field. Rachel Scott for Diotima was named American Emerging Designer of the Year, heralding the changing tides and the new perspectives they bring. In a similar vein, accessory design was headlined by none other than Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, who continue to define the accessory narrative with their innovative designs.

Marking a legacy that has flourished for decades, the CFDA Fashion Awards not only commemorated the trailblazers, but also set the stage for the future of American fashion. Packed with fashion’s elite, the event celebrated the diversity and depth of talent that the United States has consistently contributed to the global fashion scene.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year
Catherine Holstein for Khaite (Winner)
Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
Christopher John Rogers
Raul Lopez for LUAR
Tory Burch

American Menswear Designer of the Year
Willy Chavarria (Winner)
Mike Amiri for AMIRI
Colm Dillane for KidSuper
Teddy von Ranson for Teddy Vonranso
Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York

Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year
Rachel Scott for Diotima (Winner)
Bach Mai
Connor McKnight
Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell for Tanner Fletcher
Carly Mark for Puppets And Puppets

The American Accessories Designer of the Year
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row (Winner)
Ana Khouri
Brandon Blackwood
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Raul Lopez for LUAR

The International Designer of the Year
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and Loewe

The Board of Director’s Tribute
Vera Wang

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lamber
Domenico De Sole

The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Alina Cho

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Maria Cornejo

Environmental Sustainability Award
Mara Hoffman

Read more: CFDA announces 16 new interim members